Archive for January 2014

How About a Writing Prompt?

We had so much fun writing collectively for NaNoWriMo, that we thought maybe another collective writing project was in order. How about a writing prompt? Here’s how it would work:

1. You write a piece (fiction, non-fiction, or poetry) inspired by the writing prompt below. The prompt can remind you of something in your own life. Or it can spark a piece of fiction or poetry. No rules–except that for narrative pieces, let’s keep them at or under 2000ish words. No deadline, but let’s shoot for the end of February–that way we can read bits of our submissions at the March happy hour.

2. Post your writing in the “comment” section. If you have any trouble posting it, email it to Cami at clostman@live.com and she’ll post it for you.

3. Read one another’s pieces and comment liberally.

4. It’ll be fun.

So here’s the prompt:

The following broken balloon and note fell out of the sky into the yard of a friend of mine (Cami). I asked for it because I knew it had a story. But what is the story?

The note starts: “I love you and I’m so sorry that I didn’t help you that morning.” It ends with: “I HAVE TO LET YOU GO!” You’re welcome to use any of the other words you can make out.

Balloon Prompt

Building Platform One “Like” and “Follow” at a Time

Platform

 

As writers, we are constantly trying to build the ever elusive “platform,” are we not? One thing we can do for one another in our community is to LIKE and FOLLOW one another without reservation. It costs us nothing to add to one another’s numbers, while it means everything to a writer who can show his agent that he already has a readership. Below is a list of members’ author pages, twitter accounts, blogs, and websites. Go to these and join each other’s networks. As often as possible, live links are provided.

If you see a mistake here, or you missed the meeting where we passed around this list, email Cami at clostman@live.com with corrections or additions.

 

Visit, Like and Follow Us!

Dawn Quyle Landau: Blog: talefromthemotherland.me. Twitter: @DawnQLandau Blog. Facebook: facebook.com/TalesFromTheMotherland.

Dick Little: “The Write Stuff” Website: pepys2000.blogspot.com.

Janet Oakley: Twitter: @jloakley. Website: historyweaver.wordpress.com.

Cami Ostman: Twitter: @camiostman. Websites: camiostman.net and beyondbeliefanthology.com. Blogs: 7marathons7continents.com and psychologytoday.com/blog/second-wind.

Marian Exall: Friend her on Facebook: facebook.com/marian.exall! Website: marianexall.com.

Matthew Bronwer: Website: matthewbrouwerpoet.com.

Susan Chase-Foster: Blog: stilllifewithtortillas.com.

Nancy Adair: Travel blog: thespiritedwoman.com/go_blog_blog_blog/nancy-adair.

Jennifer Wilke: Blog: jenniferwilke.com. Twitter: @Wilketweets.

Pam Helberg: Twitter: @pamhelberg. Blogs: pamelahelberg.com and pmbgp.blogspot.com.

Jolene Hanson: Blog: jolenehanson.com.

Seán Dwyer: Facebook: facebook.com/dwyercafe. Blog: dwyercafe.com.

Kari Neumeyer: Facebook: facebook.com/barkandlunge. Twitter: @KariNeumeyer

A huge thanks to Dawn Quyle Landau for compiling the above list of blogs, Facebook pages, and Twitter accounts, etc.